Levitating Multiplicity

With some spare time on my hands I thought today would be a good opportunity to continue my quest to learn photoshop and try out a few things I’ve been wanting to do for a while now.

I’m sure you’ve all seen photos where the same person is shown multiple times but in different places right? Well I want to be give that a crack. But I’ve also been interested in trying levitation photography; whats that I hear you cry?! Well the idea is to make it look like someone is either falling through the air or levitating up through it. Here are some examples of each, I can promise you mine aren’t as good as these!

http://photoextremist.com/tag/multiplicity

http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/levitation-photography/

So my mission was clear! Once I had found a ‘suitable’ location I set myself up and thought about what I could do. The idea here really was just to trial the whole process; if I managed to capture a phenomenal shot that would be a bonus (I didn’t). In total I took 7 shots, the first was the empty scene followed by a sequence of 4 shots of me walking across the room and then one where I was stood on a chair ‘levitating’ and finally one of me stood to the side looking out of the window. You can see the originals below:

I edited each photo in Lightroom 5 to try and standardise the exposures as well as adjusting colour, contrast, clarity etc. Once they were all as good as I had the patience to achieve I opened them up in Photoshop. I’m not going to run through my Photoshop process here but in short I added them all into the same document as layers and started to combine them using masks. Here are a few of my favourite incarnations.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

